Reviews for Bangkok Don Mueang Airport

Here you can write a review about Bangkok Don Mueang Airport (DMK) in Thailand. Provide other airport travellers with essential airport information and be the first to tell us about your airport experience.

Reviews

No reviews found in your language. Be the first to write a review.
Matthew Lumnitzer
1 day ago
★★☆☆☆

Good: The new Istanbul airport is nice and open and has beautiful modern architecture with lots of natural light. Many seats, benches, and sofas to sit down near the International gates.

Bad:
- Lack of planning for transportation inside and outside this massive airport.
- Extremely SLOW WiFi
- No Priority Pass lounges (old airport had 3)
- "Ask Me" guest services are standing everywhere but they barely speak English and do not seem to be well trained. They were unable to answer most of my questions about availability of shops, lounges, directions, etc.
- No Turkish ice cream like the old airport

william john stuart
2 days ago
★★☆☆☆

the good things:
Its bright and airy
the passport control was the fastest ever.

the not so good:
the ground staff employed to help have not been trained and in large part only spoke piegon-english is at all
the trolly system is unusable for those with average intellegence and below. No one is my group could work it and the only helping staff available pointed us to a currency exchange desk
built in 2018 and opened in 2019 the second biggest airport in the world has NO Metro or Rail link. The project managers have has no thought for the traveller. You can take a taxi, fine. You can take a bus with no dedicated bus corridor meaning you are subject to the same grid lock as everyone else in Istanbul during peak times. Sorry Turkey but you have let your self down and given no though to the passenger. Its not a minor point. for the traveller its essential. You cannot predict your journey time like you could at Attaturk with a metro link, joining onto a Tram link
bad,bad planning

Ahmed Boubenia (French)
4 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

L'aéroport est bon mais le plus important c'est les moyens de transport qui sont pratiquement limité car les bus ou les taxi sont des moyens non sur notamment avec le trafic de la ville d'Istanbul.
Alors vaux mieux d'accélérer à réaliser un chemin de fer pour train ou métro

Tom Parkin
4 days ago
★★★☆☆

Whatever you do do not lose any personal belongings after you past through the security scanners. Before them you may find your belongings show up at Lost & Found. After them your belongings may go to the 'Customs House'. There is a phone number that you can ring but they know nothing about lost belongings. It appears that you have to go there in person if you want to see if your belongings have been handed in, difficult if you've already had to take your next flight. I realise that the operation is very new and that there are always teething problems but there should at least be somewhere that you can register your lost property with.
Otherwise a very spacious airport with many people sleeping rough

Ian Bollans
5 days ago
★★★★☆

Steve
Look at http://www.hava.ist/en/ This has a list of times and cost of buses to Sultanahmet. Also provides map of drop off points. Sultanahmet is pretty central. Note that you need an Istanbulkart before boarding (remember to top it up first) as they don't accept cash. Cost is 18TL round trip. Maybe see you on the bus!!

Steve
6 days ago
★★★☆☆

I arrive at the new Istanbul airport Sunday 4/21. I would like to take the bus that Tom mentioned on his 4/11 post. I think it is HavaIST bus #20 to Sultanahmet. Does anyone know where it stops in Sultanahment (cross streets or landmark on the map)? I would like to know if it stops near my hotel on Klodfarer Cadessi. As others have mentioned, it is very difficult to find information around transportation and I would have thought it would have been more plentiful. All information tries to route you to a taxi, which is around 60 euros (and bus is only 3 euros). I did send an email to HavaIST to inquire, but no response after several days. So I could really use your help if you know this information (please add another reply to this chain). Thanks!

B
8 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

The design of the airport is impressive and thats about it! Connecting flights is a chaos! I missed my flight and had to wait 8 hours to reclaim my bag because it was lost. There were so many people complaining about their missing luggage. There’s not much guidance and when I did find an “ask me” person, they knew very little english to none! Horrible airport service, I don’t recommend it for connecting flights at all!!

Tom
11 days ago
★★★★☆

Ok, the metro is not yet available, but the bus system works pretty fine. Took the bus service to Taksim, didn't have a problem and used the Istanbulkart to pay. It was 20 TL or so, around 3 euros. The airport itself is really impressive, a big improvement when you compare it to Atatürk Airport

Jim
13 days ago
★★☆☆☆

I hade a connection yesterday through the new Istanbul airport. Arrived in International and had a Domestic connection. Boy is this airport big. I arrived on Emirates, seemed arrival gate was about halfway along the concourse. Now I have been to nearly every hub in the world, but this was by far the longest walk I have ever had. According to my fitness app on my phone it was 2.5 Kms walk to passport control for domestic transfers, and a further 1 Km walk from there to the Turkish airlines business lounge at the domestic section of the airport.
Fast walking, it took a little under 45 minutes. There is no transfer train or bus. My arriving flight was 30 minutes late, and with the 45 minute walk, of course I missed my flight and was exhausted. The airport are advising minimum 3 hour connection time for international to domestic transfers, and though i thought this was a wild exaggeration , I now understand why. I conclude this airport is not suitable for international to domestic transfers, and will be using Sabiha Gokcen whenever possible in future. Architecture is designed to impress with little thought for practicality. Distance from down town with no train/metro access and very limited airport hotels also very negative.

Scott
14 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

Dreadful. 600 passengers arrived and were queued back to the tarmac to get fingerprinted and photographed....then another queu to validate the finger print...meanwhile those without EU passports carrying identity cards or children stroll through in minutes....utterly insane...

Janne Chatau
15 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

New airport is a bullshit: No metro and the security officers bated me because I ask there is the toillete!

Kai
21 days ago
★★★★☆

Nice airport and fast security check but, some employees don't speak English...

Violet
1 month ago
★☆☆☆☆

Poor, worst airport I have had the displeasure of using. The security is OTT, racist, classiest and do not give reasonable explanations. Hardly any staff around once you've passed through security and no information given when flights delayed

A
1 month ago
★☆☆☆☆

Total chaos! it is not something that works and how can you build the world's second largest airport and not think through how people should get there and from the airport ?? It is typically Turkey! First, the airport is delayed and now you come to realize that we have to fix the transports to the airport. It takes 100 minutes from Taksim to Istanbul Grand Airport or whatever it is called. There were chaos at the buses because they didn't have enough buses for everyone who wanted to go and maybe one would think about that !!! Now one should also not be able to pay with cash on the bus without a card that no one knows where to buy not even the Turks! I think skip Istanbul one year if you don't want to ruin your vacation. Maybe there is a chance that they have arranged this in one or two years!

Dolly Spencer
1 month ago
★☆☆☆☆

Very small airport, all airport staff are either rude or ignorant.
They stand around talking amongst themselves nil customer service.
They obviously work well with Ryanair.
Toilets are old and dirty , whole place needs a revamp and training for all staff who think they are doing the customer a favour

Radojevic (French)
1 month ago
★☆☆☆☆

Le personnel extremment desagreable, idieux et raciste. Les sachets plastiques pour contenir des liquides payants. Cerrainement le pire aeroport dans le quel je me suis retriuvee. Ils meriterraient d’etre sanctionnes.

Bob bobson
1 month ago
★★☆☆☆

What a dreadful airport. Cynically set out to ensure that you sit in an overpriced bar. Very little public seating. Still a Mickey mouse enterprise

remi (French)
2 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

La Norvege semble en pointe...pas pour l aeroport de Tromso. C' est le bordel , manque de place et de personnel.

Tasja Botha
2 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

If you can avoid this airport avoid it!

I stood in a security que right in the front waiting to go through for 10mins while the staff where chatting and laughing. They knew there were four people needing to get through security to make the British airways fly to city airport but they did not care one bit. There attitude was it is not my problem even when asked to tell the Ground crew staff that we were there. Upon finally arriving at the gate we were told sorry gate closed. We asked did the security guy not tell you we were at the front of the que, to which we were told we have been having problems with the security control since the summer and unfortunately they do not have control of what we can and cannot do.

If the security company at Frankfurt airport actually did their jobs and not chat to each other the entire time, I wouldn’t have taken us 15 mins to get through security when one is first in the que. Also none of us were pulled over either so just the security firm having no sense of urgency at all.

Needless to say the lady at British airways was a great help in getting me on the next flight out... thank you

Kai
2 months ago
★★★★☆

Small airport but very nice and convenient. Pretty fast security check and passport control.

Add review

Have you visited Bangkok Don Mueang Airport lately? We would like to hear from you. Share your opinion and help travellers around the world. We greatly appreciate your opinion!



  • Only for verification

Your rating*

AirMundo.com offers free airport information through its own websites and partners. The use of this data is only permitted for non-commercial purposes, provided that the source is mentioned. Use for commercial purposes requires permission from AirMundo.com, see the disclaimer.

Loading