Reviews for Dakar Blaise Diagne Airport

Here you can write a review about Dakar Blaise Diagne Airport (DSS) in Senegal. Provide other airport travellers with essential airport information and be the first to tell us about your airport experience.

Reviews

No reviews found in your language. Be the first to write a review.
Göran Bischoff Hansen (Swedish)
5 days ago
★★★★★

Fantastisk Flygplats, lätt att hitta och hjälpsam personal. Även Turkish Airline ska ha ett stort plus.

Quillon (French)
8 days ago
★★★★★

Aeroport qui a su évoluer en terme d’accueIl de la clientèle , pas de robotisation à l’enregistrement mais un vrai accueil humain. Une signalétique précise y compris pour le tramway pour Lyon.
Des locaux propres.
Un aéroport pas stressant à l’arrivée comme au départ

Freddie Wendin (Swedish)
8 days ago
★★★★★

Fantastisk byggnad, Var där första gången och hittade hur lätt som helst tack vare hjälpsam personal

Elisa
10 days ago
★★★★☆

Water fountain! I was pleased to have found one. Next to the Ecco store and some elevators. I believe it was not too far from the Airport Hotel.
This was 25th November 2019.

Erasmo Di MAMBRO (Italian)
14 days ago
★★☆☆☆

Un' avventura trovare un auto prenotata, con indicazioni sommarie x giunta bsolo in lingua tedesco, in parkeggi piuttosto lontanini...

DERAY (French)
18 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

comment obtenir l'information sur l'heure d'arrivée des vols sur Ramon
impossible ce jour de le savoir par internet
salutations
F.Deray

Zafer BOZKUŞ
21 days ago
★★★☆☆

I am puzzled. First, I read the comments above and felt terrible as a Turk about most of the comments written on the new Istanbul Airport. Then I came across this news below. Which one is correct ?

https://www.internationalairportreview.com/article/106597/international-airport-reviews-2019-award-winners-announced/

Readers’ Choice: Airport of the Year
Winner: Istanbul Airport
Award winner: IstanbulFor the first time for IAR, the Readers’ Choice Award was launched. From a list of 10, readers voted for the airport that has provided them with the best experience, considering delays, real-time information, connectivity, available amenities, interaction with staff, cleanliness and overall satisfaction.

Istanbul Airport received an outstanding number of votes, beating a world-class group of airports including Changi Airport, Sydney Airport, Copenhagen Airport, Hong Kong International Airport, London Heathrow Airport, Dubai International Airport, Vancouver International Airport, Charles de Gaulle Airport and Jorge Chavez International Airport.

“Covering an area of 76.5 million square metres, Istanbul Airport serves as a global hub between Asia, Africa and Europe,” said Editor of International Airport Review, Tara Nolan. “I am thrilled our readers have recognised IST as an inspiration to other airports. The airport’s efforts in innovation, creativity, design and passenger experience have won them this award, and in the video below, Istanbul Airport’s CEO details just some of the initiatives that have contributed to this.”

Marco (Italian)
25 days ago
★★★★★

Trovo comodo arrivare a Mosca con il treno. In auto troverete sempre molto traffico quando sarete vicino a Mosca, con il treno lo eviterete.

Marko
27 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

Watch out, guy in the exchange office near visa office steal 8 euros frol us. We were stressed because of the visa issue and didnt calculate, and it looks like he was doing this for long time. We need to pay 567 tlr and he exchange us 110 e. We went to the girl in the visa desk and she pointed us back to the exchange office as we didnt have enough lira from 110euros exchange (we should have 588 lira in our hands but the crook from the exchange office gave us 548). As we didnt expect that someone will try to rob us at the airport we didnt double check. I think that this guy is doing this for a long time as he was cold blooded and his coleague laughed.

JACQUE L
1 month ago
★☆☆☆☆

I have been thru the old airport many times and never had any problems. This trip was a nightmare. I was only in transit and had little over 2 hrs to catch my flight. I went to the same transit lane I usually went to at the old airport and after over 20mins in line, I was told by passport control that I needed a visa, after showing my flight info and informing him that I was not staying in Turkey, he still insisted that I needed a visa. So after walking to the visa counter I was informed by the lady there , who was extremely rude, that I did not need a visa. ( which was what I thought to begin with) Again, I got back in line and when finally getting back to the passport control officer, he told me that I cannot come thru without a visa. They then sent me to the information desk and lucky for me, a very nice young man went with me to the visa counter( after walking forever) and she became very rude and belligerent to us both but eventually gave me a visa for 25 euros. I got back in line and the passport officers were extremely rude and unhelpful. I was one of the last to board my flight and I am so grateful to that young man that helped me or I would have never made my flight. I was passed from desk to desk by some of the rudest people I have every dealt with while traveling and I have traveled to airports all over the world. I will avoid this airport in the future and I do suggest that if you do use it, pull up the map and familiarize yourself with the layout because it is not user friendly nor are most of the staff helpful or friendly. Worst airport experience ever. One agent when I tried to get help and showed my passport stated that "I am Turkish, you are American, I do not have to talk with you". I was stunned, he worked there and was paid to deal with people from all nationalities. If he could not do his job and keep his personnel beliefs from interfering, then he did not need to be doing that job. However, it appears that the majority of the employees I meet had no desire to help the travelers. Thank God for that young man who helped me!!

HEBINCK JEAN (French)
1 month ago
★☆☆☆☆

Pas du tout satisfait

NS
1 month ago
★★★☆☆

I think the airport officers over here are the best candidates for "Not-My-Job" awards. You can only ask exclusively to the ask me guys. When in fact the ask me guys are not deployed evenly in the entire airport area. I was asking the security guy for particular place, he was telling me to find an ask me guy. When in fact the place I was asking for was only one block away from him. If you happen to visit this airport, please be ready to get lost. Because not all people are willing to give you direction 😒

aadel
1 month ago
★☆☆☆☆

When I and my wife and my girl's family with a small child at 7 months should travel to Istanbul, we landed in the new istanbul airport at 1:35 am on Saturday .
We were surprised by the bad and humiliating behaviour from the pass control the police . everyone had to get stamped check into their pass except my girl.
WHAT is the reason they would not tell us and there was not one of them could speak English .
they sent us to some other cops who say that we should wait a while and the strap, we sat and waited for an explanation about WHY she had not come in ? in 4 hours and the time here was around about 5 am .
the baby was tired at the end and had no food with us to give him and the cops would not help us to recover him in one way or another while we waited on an explanation.
so they came and told us that they can't take decision about my girl not until Monday, where their responsible meetings up . at this time it was the baby finished and we decided that I and my wife and the baby takes to the hotel, which is located 50 min away from airporten.
we arrived approximately at 6:30 pm to the hotel and hoped that my girl and her husband would be allowed to enter Monday. so we have heard the day after of my girl that they would send her back to Denmark without her baby !!!!
WHAT is it for some people who work in this airport when it no conscience have .The girl was sent back alone without her baby and the man had to come to the hotel and retrieved the baby and buy new tickets and travel back to Denmark after his wife. I am a man 57 years old , who traveled much around the world . I have never seen be than the airport staff in istanbul airport .when you ask for just a little info will be sent from one office to another , the staff is not helpful and bother just help . and when you find the airport wifi on your mobile so you can not log you in before you have a Turkish cell number . and it is good enough strange because not all flying or land on this airport are turks, I would never travel to this country even though there is wonderful nature and culture and population .

Alda Fiordelli (Italian)
1 month ago
★☆☆☆☆

Uno degli aereoporto peggiori e meno accoglienti che abbia mai visto/frequentato.
Spazi angusti si susseguono a corridoi stretti e anfratti bui dove oasseggeri in attesa si mischiano con passeggeri in transito e acquirenti. Non ci sono sedie per riposare/attendere/rilassarsi. La gente gira sebza sapere dove fernarsi. Scale ovunque, pochissime quelle mobili. Ai gates impissibile mettersi regolarmente in fila per mancanza di spazio.
Da evitare se possibile!

Marco (Italian)
1 month ago
★☆☆☆☆

Shitty airport. Security guy was stupid in a way l have never seen. Controls waaaay too slow for nothing. Personnel doesn't speak a decent English.

Jane Hepburn
1 month ago
★☆☆☆☆

My husband and I arrived in your beautiful country this evening (3/10/2029) for a two week holiday to celebrate 26 years of married life only to be met with rudeness, a couldn’t care less attitude from your border staff and an inexplicable fine of 567 Turkish lira!
We had a valid Turkish visa which was issued in May 2019 and valid for 180 days. We had a holiday in Istanbul in May/June this year and loved the city so much we thought we would go again for our celebrations before our visa finished. We still had more than one more month left on the visa. When we ordered the visa, at no time did your staff inform us there would be a problem.
It seems that because my husband’s passport expires in four and a half months there was a big problem.
WHY?
The visa was still valid.
His passport was still valid.
We only wanted to stay for two weeks.
We could not believe our eyes when we were told we had to pay 567 Turkish lira!!
FOR WHAT?
My husband’s visa was still valid and so was his passport!
But this amount is outrageous!
Why?
And the worst thing was that no one in your visa office told us there could be a problem, even though we had entered my husband’s passport details when getting the original visa back in May.
After paying this absolutely extortionate amount of money this evening... the border guard CANCELLED the visa my husband already had and just gave him 15 days!!
He didn’t even ask what date my husband had booked a flight back to the UK.
Turkey has been one of our most favourite destinations... we love the friendly people, your amazing culture and delicious food.
It has always been so easy to get a visa, jump on a plane and enjoy a holiday here.
NO MORE!
We had such a terrible experience today being treated like criminals and having to pay an unbelievable amount of money...it was 11 pm at night and we were exhausted. My husband is 75 years old.
We are very very disappointed and start our anniversary holiday in an extremely angry and sad mood.
We will think twice about coming to Turkey again and tell everyone about this outrageous treatment.
We are both old age pensioners and having to pay out more than £70 for ABSOLUTELY NOTHING has been a shock, right at the beginning of our lovely celebrations.
We will pass on news about this terrible treatment to all our friends and describe what happened today on Trip Advisor.

Niko
1 month ago
★☆☆☆☆

Didn’t find some parts of my cars when i turned back 4 days after

Ioana
1 month ago
★☆☆☆☆

I have had the worst experience and I wouldn’t wish this to my worst enemy. I flew from London and supposed to meet my mum who was coming from Bucharest early morning. Her plane landed and she didn’t show up although I spoke with her minutes before her plane took off. I have spent 8 h on that bloody airport trying to find my mom. Two lovely Turks tried to help me and that’s it. No one speaks proper English, you are not allowed to make announcements. Worst 8 h of my life. They literally do not care, they send you from desk to desk and that’s it. The signage is awful and my poor mum didn’t even get to passport control and she got lost on the other side of the airport. No one helped her. What I experienced in those 8 hours, thinking that something happend to her. In the end I took a cab and went to the police and after 2 hours of watching CCTV’s and a nice Russian woman that showed my mum the right way i managed to find her. Never again will I fly to this airport. I am scared for life.

andrea koch
2 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

Departure:
Odessa airport departures is from the old soviet building and it is chaos. So best to be there 2 hours before your flight. They have only 3 gates but they cannot organise things that well. Bring some food and drink, the bar in the building is expensive. Only imported beer from mexico for £5 a bottle and grumpy male service. No ukrainian beer, which is a shame, since it is of excellent quality, better even than german beer. You will not have a gate indicator for you flight, so best is to sit in the small waiting lounge and check the tellies above the doors of the 3 existing gates regularly. About 15 mins before your departure the tellie will indicate your destination and then he bus will soon arrive and take you to your plane. With a bit of patience it will all go ok. Do not expect Vienna airport standards in Odessa. They are still far from that but things work somehow in Odessa, it is organised chaos but they get you there in the end.

andrea koch
2 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

In Odessa you need to be careful that you do not get overcharged by the taxis at the airport. There is 2 buildings now. The old soviet building, which is for departures only, and a brand new building, which is for arrivals only. I was told that the new building is private and was built by an oligarch and the old building is still state owned. When you arrive in the new building do ignore the taxi drivers under any circumstance and do ignore the taxi stand. They demand euro 40 to drive you into town and this is nearly ten times as much as it really costs with an honest taxi. Leave the building and walk over to the old soviet building. From there you should be able to negotiate a better price. The price is 150 grivna, that is ca £5 (2019) or euro 5.50. There is also a trolleybus and an autobus into town from the old building. The taxi drivers in the modern building will tell you that there is no public transport. But this is not true. All you need to do is walk over to the old soviet building (ca 5 min walk) and ignore the stuff that's going on with taxis in the arrival building (new building). They are rip offs big time. Once in the centre prices are fine and people are normal.

Add review

Have you visited Dakar Blaise Diagne Airport lately? We would like to hear from you. Share your opinion and help travellers around the world. We greatly appreciate your opinion!



  • Only for verification

Your rating*

AirMundo.com offers free airport information through its own websites and partners. The use of this data is only permitted for non-commercial purposes, provided that the source is mentioned. Use for commercial purposes requires permission from AirMundo.com, see the disclaimer.

Loading