• Free and up-to-date :)

    We are happy to help you plan your trip through our free and up-to-date airport transportation guides. Do you want to rent a car in the spring/summer of 2023? Be aware, there is a rental car shortage at airports, check our partner's website for the best deals!

Reviews for Istanbul Airport

Read reviews or write a review about Istanbul Airport (IST) in Turkey. Provide other airport travellers with essential airport information and tell us about your airport experience. So far, 112 airport passengers have written an airport review about Istanbul Airport with an average score of 1 out of 5.

Reviews

Eva
20 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

Worst ever flight experience. I had a transfer flight to Istanbul airport a couple of days ago. The cabin crew was rude during the first flight from my home country to Istanbul. After a couple of arrogant and sarcastic comments and mimics, I thought I was overreacting or just imagining things (as I've never met a cabin crew like that), but later when it was dinner time the same cabin crew skipped me and never gave me my meal. After landing in Istanbul I got a message that my flight was delayed for 4 hours. There was no internet at the airport, you can only get 1 hour of wifi free or must buy it. None of us was informed why the flight got delayed, the information desk stayed empty all the time I was there, and we didn't receive any free meals/drinks/ free telephone calls, fax etc. that we were supposed to get according to the Turkish Airlines customer's rights. We were informed about the number of gates one hour and a half before the flight and the gates were super far. Hopefully, I don't have to ever go back to this airport or buy this airlines tickets.

Rocheron
27 days ago
★★★☆☆

I found the airport , extremely poor in regards of elderly passengers. Walking Distance for an ex: Domestic flight from ticket counter to gate = 1.7 km . The airport could accommodate some passengers with some electric carts like some international airport such as Madrid Airport.

Ramazan
1 month ago
★★★★★

Had no issues at all. Turkish airline (business class) flight took off in time to Düsseldorf airport. Just make sure you have sufficient time planned ahead so you can enjoy the lounge.

Anonymous
2 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

Worst airport I've ever experience. Long que even for transient passengers (for 2 hours) then the security allows other people to jump from line without queuing. Never again to have a stop over in Istanbul airport or not even dream of passing that airport.

Petr D.
3 months ago
★★☆☆☆

Beautiful airport but, drinking water you have to buy very expensive water or softdrinks. I was thirsty, 6 hours waiting for my connection flight from Mauritius to Amsterdam. At Subway one cup of hot tea and 4 cookies € 11.40. Scandalous expensive! if you travel around the world, drinking water is on the airport's for free or cheaper then in the shops around Istanbul airport. If you fly with TK and you have pass the security, and you take the metal spoon, knife and a fork, the security take the fork. Argument i used to eat with this fork in the plane of rk and I fly to Amsterdam again by Turkish airlines. No discuss possible, the stupid Turkish security man took it. He told me is dangerous I can kill someone on the airport. Why TK use this during the flight, I can kill someone in the airplane if I have to believe the story of the security at
.

Ahmad Hussain
3 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

Travelled to Karachi from Newark and back sept 26 /22 return Oct 6/22.
Fell for Turkish airlines ads.
IST Is a terrible airport . All I can say is avoid this airport
Almost no internet service, boarding info only two hours before the flight . Long long walk , yo-yo 1 mile between the terminals . I saw lot of passengers really struggling to walk . Sleepy staff at info booths , unwilling to help. Terrible terrible airport. Please avoid this airport .

Estefy Blanco
4 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

I wouldn’t even give a one star. My friend and I had a flight back to the U.S boarding 7:35 am then changed to 7:25 am which we were fine because we arrived 3 hours before to check in. Customer service at checking us in were terrible, made a mistake with our boarding passes and gave the wrong name for my friend. Agents at the desk was sleepy which probably made sense because by the mistake he made. Went through control and the officers are extremely rude to you. Anyhow we arrived to our gate between 6:55am -7:00 am and waited but gate was closed, no one was there which we really were so confused. We looked at the screen of information and our flight still was departing at 7:25 am. I decided to look up the flight number online on google and on their website Turkish airline stated the plane left at 7:15 am. We know it has to be 20-25 minutes to be there and we did as we thought our time was 7:25am. Here comes the worst part, they took us to the office where people miss their flights, spoke to an agent and couldn’t help us, didn’t explain well to us what was the issue but clearly gave new boarding passes to other customers that also missed their flights. I called Expedia where we booked our flights from and had an agent on the call explained to him what happen and expressed that Turkish airline HAS to give us a new boarding pass to get where we need to get to catch our second plane. He couldn’t also understand why Turkish airline wouldn’t help. We got sent to the supervisor agency desks, made the kind explained again the whole situation which we have explained by that time 10x repeating the same story. They are just rude and look at you and look away, they talk to you like you are simply trash. They explained that they don’t work with air Canada (that’s our airline) it was our fault on missing the flight and that we weren’t there 20 minutes before boarding, that they couldn’t do anything to help, if we wanted to leave we had to purchase a new ticket of $1,500 one way and walked off on us. We both are girls stranded in turkey, with no place to stay by that time it was already 3pm. Of course we were still fighting it because we wanted to leave as soon as possible and find a solution. We got send to many places back and forth for hours, we got told to wait for hours for answers from them which were all the same “sorry it’s your fault” and walks away. One supervisor agent came back to us and said that they looked at the camera footages and stated they didn’t see us at 7:20 am at the gate WHICH doesn’t make sense because all day they were saying the flight supposedly left at 7:15 and our boarding and their screen says 7:25 am and we were there 20dh minutes before. Why would we stand at the gate at 7:20 am when everything was empty .i really don’t think they actually looked at the camera footages because they would have seen us there in between 6:55-700 am. Then we got send to ticket sale (4) waited there hours explained the whole situation to please help us, by that time I called back Expedia again and explained, had an agent call air Canada to explain the situation. When I explained that the plane left at 7:15 am according to them, the agent of Expedia was confused because in their system and also air Canada system had 7:25 am. Turkish airline never updated in the system that they planned to depart early and which now we understand why I didn’t receive no alerts from Expedia or Air Canada. I always get alerts of my flights I even got one that same day from air Canada changing gates. Agent from Expedia put us on hold and was trying to figure what was going on. Meanwhile, an agent from ticket sale office came to us and literally said the same thing BUT this time she told us the plane actually left at 7AM!! Why didn’t we get no notification, why didn’t they updated their system and let other agency’s know so they can alert their customers. We arrived at 5am to the airport, took us about an hour and so to get our boarding passes, check in through security etc. The agent tried saying we didn’t check In 3 hour before a flight. They weren’t making sense every time was a different story. They couldn’t change ticket, basically felt we were on our own to figure out how to get home. We called customer service because that was the only way to get “help” according to them and again NO HELP, after an hour on the phone with them, the agent on the call said we didn’t pay for our ticket basically saying we never had a returned flight but we had boarding passes, passed through security and got our passport stamped LOL I was amazed at everything I was getting told by Turkish airline. Everything was negative by them, we had to pick up our luggages, walk out so we can reenter the airport, get our passport stamped as DECLINED. Officers were very mean to us, mocking us, even one officer said “you miss your flight sleeping in” and started laughing in our face. We were trying to hold it together and not panic. 6pm still on the phone with Expedia since they were on the other line with air Canada trying to help us. The agent from Expedia was an angel, on the phone with us through this process. Around 6pm he asked to speak to one of the supervisor agent to get this resolved and also resolve the situation as to why they never updated them to departing early then the time they had. We went back to the supervisor area, we had to reexplained again to one of the agent there and of course in a rude way said “can’t help you you need to contact air Canada or Expedia we don’t work with them” I told her agent from our agency back in the u.s wanted to speak to them so we can solve this to please speak to them. Of course in a rude tone she responded “I don’t speak to no one I won’t help you we can’t do anything for you find your way to call them” after her being rude for more then 5 minutes, our Expedia agent also heard the Turkish airline supervisor everything that came out of her mouth and was shocked at their customer service with us. He eventually told us to get an Airbnb that we unfortunately had to find last minute. We were exhausted being at the airport since 5am to 8pm. No food or water for hours. We got no help from Turkish airline, not even offered a place to stay to help us for the night since we didn’t have no where to go. We felt lost, scared and all kinds of emotions. I never had this situation like this before, I’ve traveled so much to many countries and never had a situation like this that an airline rejects to help you. Expedia really went out of their way to help us, we were extremely lucky to have an agent that felt through the phone the nervousness and lost in our voice. He found a solution for us to depart the day 9/26
Right now we are at the airport waiting for check in to open so we can check in our bags and go to our gate and sit there because who knows when Turkish airline decides to depart. The worst experience, the worst airline, the worst customer service just everything.

Éric Skelton
8 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

Scams everywhere at this airport !
The currency exchange booths charge 20% above the official rate. The airport shuttle « service » costs three times more than a yellow taxi outside the terminal: Shame on the airport managers for cheating visitors to Turkey !

Sami
10 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

Well it aint weird for racism to occur here for the second time I’ve flown. Im making sure this will be my last time!

My vaccinations are ACCEPTED AND IN THE DATABASE OF THE EU, UK AND NORTH AMERICA; but apparently it aint good enough for Istanbul airport. The staff rejected my vaccination on the soul basis of where i had done it ( North Iraq). She made sure to say that they didn’t accept it for that which is total BS. This experience has honestly made sure that i will never fly to or even over Istanbul because all I have experienced is theft and racism. IF YOU STILL HAVE TIME FLY THROUGH ANY OTHER AIRPORT OR TAKE A HORSE BACK RIDE STILL MORE HONORABLE THAN THIS RACIST AIRPORT.

Syaifuddin Ismail
13 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

What more can I say, I can only agree with the other reviewer who give bad comments about this airport.

I was held up on the gate to board my flight. The staff asked to confirm if I had not been away from the UK for the last 2 years when I presented my residence permit (BRP). I said that I was away just for less than 3 months but they could not confirm it because UK Border Force does not stamp your passport when you're away. They asked for my previous ticket which I could not provide - who would bring their previous tickects anyway? It's ridicoulus situation, why would they do what UK Border Force will do when I enter UK border anyway?

To top it up, I was selected for a baggage random check. Surely they should consider what I had been through before deciding I'm the right candidate for the check! What an awful experience.

Majid
1 year ago
★☆☆☆☆

Worst experience ever in my entire aviation carrier. I worked in the YVR airport for the last 20 years. Never ever seen such a poor poor service. They just built an airport with out any providing service. Missed my flight family of four. Even though I was there three hours before my flight. Had to buy née tickets to fly back to YVR. Short staff. No knowledge. No English. No service. What is the point of having the biggest airport if you can’t operate it.

Christa Goosen
1 year ago
★☆☆☆☆

Never in my whole life will I fly through Istanbul airport ever again. Rude and incompetent staff. Me and hundreds of other people were stranded because we were held by long lines and slow yawning staff through transit. Half of us missed our connecting flights and rude, unhelpful staff that CANNOT speak English send us from counter to counter. The refused to refund us.!! Said we had enough time to get to our connecting flights. Since there were no flights to Ljubliana (could not stay in Istanbul without quarantine for 14 days.) I had to get n super expensive flight to Zagreb and road transfer from there to Slovenia. I WANT TO GIVE THEM -5 STARS

ANthony
1 year ago
★☆☆☆☆

Worst airport ever. I travelled to many airports in the world and this one is the most chaotic and terrible one. Their wifi is not free, and when we tried to buy a 1 day time, their system did not process, caused us double charged, and locked us with stupid message that we exceed the limit devices (when those are 2 devices we used to loggin). Had to pay the third one by other passport just to get back online, and now they refused to refund us the overcharged. AVOID TURKISH AIRLINE, NEVERRRR ISTANBUL. Biggest scam for travelers in the 21st century. Shame on Turkish country!!!!!!!!

Ali
1 year ago
★☆☆☆☆

I don’t want to give any star at all. The border control staff is from hell. Non of them speak English and they are extremely rude. When you are at border control, be prepared for anything. I like Turkey but because of the “airport horror” I would rather spend my holidays in another country.

Ian Abbott
1 year ago
★☆☆☆☆

Very expensive airport in every way. 8 pounds a pint, 18 pounds for a rubbish kebab, duty free prices are all in euros but when you pay, you pay in lira at their exchange rates. Imigration is terrible. Stone age country. One to avoid if transitting.

Vasiliy
1 year ago
★☆☆☆☆

I have visited at least 30 countries in my life,and travelled by plane at least 50 times,but Istanbul airport is by farrrrrr the worst in terms of customer service. I waited for over an hour in the check-in line, with only about 10 people in front, beacuse of the utterly unprofessional,incompetent,confused,lost and idiotic women working at the counters. Made me wish to walk back,instead of fly. Avoid ist.airport at allll costs.it's just not worth the money or your nerves.awful,awful

Artem Drovalev
1 year ago
★☆☆☆☆

Staff is total sh*t. They only know words like: control, laptop, please, etc. When you start asking or telling them starting, they listen and go: “I dOn’T kNoW eNgLiSh” I can also tell they are total idiots, passing the control I had a sweater with metal zips, they started touching EVERY PART OF ME! I was asking them if they had any mental problems, or if they don’t understand that this is what beeps in the control. As soon as I started talking, the girl went: “I nO uNdErStAnD eNgLiSh” Who the duck let them go to work with that “knowledge” of English!? I really hope that the people sitting in the control tower really know English. If you know you have a transfer In Istanbul New Airport, be ready to know at least some keywords in Turkish, or your journey will turn into a nightmare :(

ALI RABIEE
2 years ago
★☆☆☆☆

Very Little signs, few English speaking staff.

afsaruddin
3 years ago
★☆☆☆☆

My wife and I booked our flight to Dhaka, a transit from Istanbul ( Turkish airlines, After reading all these reviews, I am very worried and nervous if we will be able to catch our flight with only 1 hour half transit time Hopefully, their service improved now to help transist passenger to board their flight.

AY
3 years ago
★☆☆☆☆

We arrived at our gate after walking 20 minutes. All is fine. However as time approached there was no activity, so I go and look at other doors, and departure panels. Found out the gate has changed. I rushed back, and was able to get to the new door. No signs, no announcement at the old gate. I told the official there that many people are still at the old gate and needed to be reminded. He said “It is the duty of the traveller to be vigilant and be alert and look out for anything that may change.” I told him maybe they needed to announce on the PA the people (some in wheelchairs) to come to the new door. His response was, “Oh man! If we were to announce everything on the PA, this place would be so bad, nobody could even work here!” Horrible attitude. Horrible management. Horrible people. Horrible experience.

LEFEUVRE (French)
24 days ago
★★★★☆

Les couloirs sont interminables. Quels regrets ! Pourquoi l’aéroport Atatürk est-il fermé ? La décision unilatérale d’Erdoğan de fermer cet aéroport alors que le métro venait d’être installé est une aberration. Un nouvel aéroport était nécessaire mais garder l’ancien n’était pas de trop.
Le nouveau est loin.

juliard (French)
3 months ago
★★★☆☆

Juillet 2022, l'aeroport est magnifique, le duty free immense mais les produits sont chers! le personnel de l'aeroport (ceux a qui nous avons eu a faire, pas du tout aimable, hautain voire méprisant...

Toure (French)
5 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

Expérience horrible à l aéroport d Istanbul, personnel incompétent et raciste. Ils nous a retenu à l enregistrement pendant 1h, je leur ai réclamé nos passeports pour ne pas raté le vol. Ils nous ont complètement ignoré. Lorsque j ai monté le ton j'ai réussi à récupérer nos passeports mais avec 2 enfants en bas âge et 30 minutes pour passer les contrôles et se rendre à l autre bout de l aéroport nous avons raté l avion. A notre arrivée à la porte d embarquement, la même équipe qui nous a pris de haut et nous tournée le dos pour rire.

Fatima (French)
3 years ago
★★★★★

5 points. Ç bien et énorme. Les zones de tax refund sont trés mal gérés. Les staffs son malpolis. Et les turks ne parlent pas des langues étrangéres. Ma visite datait du 19oct au 26oct 2019

Ragnhild Sörensson (Swedish)
3 years ago
★★★★★

Lätt att hitta. Tydligt markerat på skyltar var man ska gå.

Birol (Swedish)
3 years ago
★★★★★

Good Airport

Batakli (French)
3 years ago
★★★★★

J'y suis allé fin octobre 2019 et, sincèrement, il est magnifique. Je me suis connecté sur le wifi gratuit de l'aéroport. Les toilettes étaient très propres. Pour les correspondances, attention à ne pas calculer trop court. Je pense qu'il faut au moins 1h30 de délai entre les deux vols.

Göran Bischoff Hansen (Swedish)
3 years ago
★★★★★

Fantastisk Flygplats, lätt att hitta och hjälpsam personal. Även Turkish Airline ska ha ett stort plus.

Freddie Wendin (Swedish)
3 years ago
★★★★★

Fantastisk byggnad, Var där första gången och hittade hur lätt som helst tack vare hjälpsam personal

Ghoul (French)
3 years ago
★★★★★

Bonjour très belle Aeroport la Turquie voit grand certes tout n est pas encore parfait mais vu l organisation àutour des lieux de visites on s inquiéte pas
Très belle ville à voir
Mais c est. Vrai 15 min entre l atterrissage et le temps d arriver au-débarquement c est très long

Björn Bergqvist (Swedish)
3 years ago
★☆☆☆☆

Hej
Arrogant och ohjälpsam personal på alla ställen där jag tilltalade en Turk, Turkar måste var det otrevligaste folkslaget i världen. Försökte ta reda på vart Mastercards Key Lounge låg, det tog mej 1,5h tills någon sa att det finns inte, kan jag ens lita på det? orkade inte leta vidare så jag bara slappade tills mitt flyg avgick.
Dåligt skyltat och dyrt är det oxå.
I fortsättningen skall jag göra allt för att slippa mellanlandning här.
Björn B

Rousset (French)
3 years ago
★☆☆☆☆

Aéroport magnifique, mais il y a énormément à faire pour qu'il soit au niveau des petits aéroport européen, il valait mieux faire plus petit mais avec un meilleur service aux passagers :
- Toilettes très sales dans tous les coins
- prix exorbitant pour les restaurants
- même les produits locaux sont trop chères, c'est dommage, ça devrait être une vitrine pour attirer les touristes et les encourager à aller visiter la ville d’Istanbul
- impossible de se connecter au WIFI (même pas pour quelques minutes), les restaurants en ont fait un commerce très juteux, il faut acheter pour 20 euros pour avoir quelques minutes de WIFI.
- attention quand vous payez en Euros, on vous rend des livres (en vous faisant croire que ces sont des euros), en plus que c'est très chère, vous perdez encore 6 fois sur la monnaie rendue.

Jim (French)
3 years ago
★☆☆☆☆

Il n'y a aucun moyen de faire chauffer un repas pour bébé. Rien n'est prévu par l'aéroport (en dehors des restaurants qui refusent tous de chauffer le repas des enfants avec une mention spéciale pour Starbuck qui n'a vraiment pas été aimable...).
Les toilettes pour enfant sont sales. Nous avons vu une femme de ménage passer dans les toilettes avant d'y aller. Elle n'a rien nettoyé du tout. Pourtant, ça se voyait que la cuvette était très sale.
Sinon, comptez au moins 25mn entre atterrissage et l'arrivée au point de stationnement. Ajoutez le temps de débarquement et le temps pour vous rendre à votre correspondance. Bref, si vous avez moins d'1h30 pour votre correspondance, c'est très mal parti pour l'avoir.
Bref, ce nouvel aéroport n'est vraiment pas top.

Levreau (French)
3 years ago
★★★☆☆

Pouvez vous ce que les ultrasons que nous entendons en permanance dans l'aéroport. Après y avoir passé 24 heures je peux vous dire que c'est strident.

Jalal . Perpignan (French)
3 years ago
★★★★★

magnifique et énorme aéroport flambant neuf ça brille de partout et bien desservi , les prix du transport sont raisonnable, par contre globalement les prix de la zone détaxée duty free sont vraiment chers .

Naoui (French)
3 years ago
★★★★★

Jörgen Andersson (Swedish)
3 years ago
★★★★★

Till att vara så gigantisk stor,är det ändå mycket lätt att hitta rätt.
Mycket hjälpsam personal,och för en gångs skull lite leenden från säkerhetspersonalen.

Saida (French)
3 years ago
★★★★★

Ahmed Boubenia (French)
3 years ago
★☆☆☆☆

L'aéroport est bon mais le plus important c'est les moyens de transport qui sont pratiquement limité car les bus ou les taxi sont des moyens non sur notamment avec le trafic de la ville d'Istanbul.
Alors vaux mieux d'accélérer à réaliser un chemin de fer pour train ou métro

Add review

Have you visited Istanbul Airport lately? We would like to hear from you. Share your opinion and help travellers around the world. We greatly appreciate your opinion!



  • Only for verification

Your rating*

AirMundo.com offers free airport information through its own websites and partners. The use of this data is only permitted for non-commercial purposes, provided that the source is mentioned. Use for commercial purposes requires permission from AirMundo.com, see the disclaimer.

Loading