Reviews for Istanbul New Airport

Read reviews or write a review about Istanbul New Airport (IST) in Turkey. Provide other airport travellers with essential airport information and tell us about your airport experience. So far, 31 airport passengers have written an airport review about Istanbul New Airport with an average score of 1 out of 5.

Reviews

Alan Bryant
4 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

Used for first time,during April .impressed with building,but on landing it took a further 30 minutes to taxi.The passengers around me were laughing in disbelief at how long this was taking.On entering building,walked and walked and walked to passport control,utter madness.Then walked and walked,for connecting flight.
Have decided to avoid this airport and Turkish Airlines,which I love.In the future direct flights avoiding istanbul.I feel for large families,with imparred difficulties in walking.This is very stressful for them.
I've heard many people have missed connecting flights.Im not surprised !!!!

Richard Stephen
8 days ago
★★☆☆☆

I think I'm going to be repeating what many other people have already said here.
This is a big, impressive airport, so it actually LOOKS good.
However, there's so much that is not good that I'm going to have to recommend that, if you have a very short connection, or a very long connection, you AVOID this airport for now.
I used the old Ataturk Airport a lot and had my routine working beautifully. The problem was that that airport just wasn't big enough and struggled to cope with the volumes.
However, in rushing to switch over completely to the New Istanbul Airport, they've made the mistake of putting the politics first, instead of the customers.
So, sure, the airport's open, but there are a lot of weaknesses that need to be addressed.
Firstly, taxi-ing from and to the runway currently seems to take forever. I'd say it's at least 20 mins and, on a busy morning, I've already experienced much longer.
When you get to the terminal, there are moving walkways but, again, not nearly enough. So you now have to walk forever to get to the transfers area. That itself is fine. However, although it's all new and modern, it's frankly no better than it was before, at Ataturk.
You then walk to the main shopping area, which seems to serve as the 'hub' to continue on to the various 'wings' where the departure gates are located. (And, by the way, please don't waste your time trying to get any meaningful information or directions out of the 'helper' staff. Every one I've spoken to spoke very poor English.)
Also, they don't seem to have given any thought to installing moving walkways through this shopping area, which means that it really does take ages to pass through it.
To give you an example, this morning, the screen told me my departure gate was B9B. I was quite close, so needed only 15 mins to get there. However, just before I arrived, they changed it to F9A, which meant that I have to turn around and walk all the way back to the 'hub' and make my way to my changed gate. Walking time? 30 mins! (And yes, I am very fit and no, I'm not joking!)
Also, as some other people have already said, because they have made the unforgivable mistake of NOT finishing the new Metro link yet to connect to the planned upgraded Gayretteppe station, a lot of people just don't have enough time to leave the airport and make their way to a hotel outside. This means that a lot more people are currently hanging around the airport, making it quite difficult to find somewhere convenient and sit, eat, read etc.
So, the obvious short-term solution is to go to the integral hotel, right? Wrong. FAR too expensive for your average traveller.
The next alternative's got to be a lounge. Wrong again however! They only have three (3). There's one for Gold Members only, another for Business travellers only and only one pay-as-you-go lounge which, I think, was charging around €60. Again, far too much for someone who just wants to relax for a few hours in a comfortable seat, use a reliable WIFI and get something to eat.
On the optimistic side, they will eventually finish the Metro link and I'd expect that hotels will mushroom up around each of the stops between the terminal and the Gayretteppe 'hub' station. However, I my money says it won't be finished late this year as planned, but will be well into 2020.
This is the problem with Turkish Airlines. They're just not very efficient at all.
They've always had a problem with flight delays and cancellations and, based on what I'm seeing right now, I fear that they and that are not getting any better.
So, if you decide to go through this airport, good luck and stay patient!

xul
11 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

If your vacation destination is this new Istanbul airport, then this is a 4 stars place to visit. If you're transferring through here, be ready for a nightmare. I have been looking forward to visit this new airport, so I specifically pick the route to transfer via this airport. How disappointing! Too many bad points to mention, avoid at all time unless it improves.

Takhir Baratov
21 days ago
★★★☆☆

Istanbul airport is new and therefore modern. It is quite big and interesting but..first thing the modern traveller needs is to connect his mobile phone to internet. When you arrive there is a little info about it. I tried to connect to available wifi spots and accidentally found one that promised to provide with free wifi upon registration for 30 minutes, during these time you are supposed to download and install airport app with free wifi. I could not register due to poor interface so I decided to try roaming data. After downloading the app again asks to register. This is too much sophisticated approach.

The airport is new and still improving so I expect to see there local food shops, better variety of selling goods instead of the same duty free and electronics you can find anywhere.

Ammar Raza
24 days ago
★★★★★

I have been Travelling from ISTANBUL airport,
1- Beautiful Airport
2- Friendly guide/assistance available on every corner,
3- Luxurious Restorent available at very affordable price.
4-Take off delays due to longest runway but manageable,
5- worth for money
6- Airport is bit far from the city but airport shuttle available from entire istanbul Europe and Asia side at very affordable price .
7- hope to be the most luxuries airport service in future

Trygve
25 days ago
★★☆☆☆

I have used the new IST twice now and both time on arrival and departure, the time spent taxiing was 30 minutes. This is just ridiculous and every flight was late. I don't plan to return as everything just seemed to take forever (including multiple security checks and long walks with no moving sidewalk). IST is a mess.

Harry
1 month ago
★☆☆☆☆

With a lot of persistence and luckily traveling business, we managed to get organized after missing our connection. THY changed our reservation to the next day and sent us to a hotel at the old Ataturk Airport. A long way. Even had to buy a visa because we left the airport. No idea how we will recover that cost. Messed up our reservations in Spain, where we are heading. No one in the airport seems to know much about what is happening. One has to keep asking until he gets a reasonable answer. Always a long walk. Extremely poor planning as to being able to get around in the new airport. And multiple security checks for no apparent reason. Assume that some day they will get organized, but if not they are doomed. Not going to plan a trip back for future years because of the airport.

Anita
1 month ago
★☆☆☆☆

I visited this airport 4 times during May. Its all fine and good to have a massive building and call yourself the biggest but you must think about the users not about the show. The distances are way too far, youll feel exhausted after youve got out the doors. With no logical planning of traffic flow I couldnt even find a water fountain I was going up and down escalators and walking those vast neverending spaces in circles I ended up getting some water off the lady at the info desk. The wifi wasnt working, working only for turkish sims according to the info desk. Theres hardly any seats. Staff are few and far between once you get through passport control. Everytime you go outside, be it for whatever reason, you have to go through security again to get back in. I just got off a plane and had to wait for my mum to arrive 3 hours later I thought ok I can go find out about the shuttle service and buy the bus tickets. It was a hell of a treck just to get to the escalators to go down and when i came back in i went through security and my I was asked to open my bag!!! I just got off a plane!! Stupid!!!The escalators to the bus are even much longer than they need to be, trying to impress without any thought of practicality. Theres no shuttles of any form to cover the enormous distances just some elavated walkways god forbid they should break down !!If you have any kind of disability it would be terrible its kilometers of walking. Almost all the Turkish Airlines flights arriving were delayed so theres obviously some issues with ATC.Taxying to the runway took at least 20 minutes. The toilets have 2 stalls in them. For the volume of guests they want to handle this is ridiculously shortsighted. Its too far from the city in the middle of nowhere. There is only one exit door slap bang in the middle, if your luggage is one of the end carousels you have to walk 500m to get out! The only saving grace was the lovely policeman who inspected my passport. Its a terrible airport the worst Ive been too its just too big and not thought out by regular travellers I dont know who designed it but he obviously doesnt travel like the rest of us. I wouldnt even give it one star. Ive been to London rome new york paris cairo bangkok sydney hong kong beijing doha dubai bahrain abu dhabi etc this airport is hands down THE WORST. AVOID

Rudi
1 month ago
★★☆☆☆

We came unprepared for IGA and paid dearly for it:
Somehow we thought there was a Priority Pass lounge, and that mistake cost us 100TL+ with items such as 500ml water ranging between 6TL (vending machine) and 12TL (vendor). Other food & snacks were pretty expensive too.
4 bags needed wrapping @ 85tl per bag = 340TL

Dee Parkes
1 month ago
★☆☆☆☆

Avoid this new airport if you can!!

I think Turkey a fascinating & very civilised country and I am (was?) a regular user of Turkish airlines & Ataturk airport.
But I won't be using Istanbul as a hub again.

The new airport has a number of serious shortcomings. Some could be corrected (but probably won't be). Others can't.
1. This airport is an hour's journey each way to/from the city centre  - compared with 20 minutes from Ataturk.
2  This airport has no Airport hotels in the vicinity - again nearly an hour's drive to/from a proper hotel. 
Both these facts make a day/overnight visit to Istanbul city unattractive

3 This Airport is very badly organised.  Example for domestic to domestic transfers. Instead of merely walking up a staircsse near your arrival gate to the departure gate level you have to go all the hundreds of yards to the end of the domestic pler - & then all the hundreds of yards back to your new gate. HOW STUPID IS THAT?!!  They could easily have an access (staircase with boarding card check) at the middle & each end of the pier.

4  This airport's facilities are poor and do not match the need for example there are too few toilets (only 2 or 3) in each toilet block. There are very few places to eat or shop.

5  This airport has inadequate (& not comfortable) seating for the number of passengers waiting at a gate.

6  This Airport has no Lounge provision except for Business: so experienced travelers like myself who fly Business internationally but Economy short-haul cannot use any lounge with their Priority Pass (or other subscription lounge services). Added to the poor standard seating this is a major irritant.

7  The airport design is poor - for example, aside from the vast distances passengers have to walk, the planes have to travel such a long way to reach the runway it literally adds TEN minutes to EVERY flight to/from anywhere.

8  I'm sure there are more shortcomings - I couldn't see the whole airport during my three visits this week.



If you HAVE to transit in Istanbul or use Turkish domestic I recommend you use SAW airport instead. No great distances to walk/taxi, a good-enough lounge, good hotels within 15 minutes - & usually cheaper flight prices than IST.

carol guvercin
1 month ago
★★★★☆

The airport has 5 piers (A,B,D,F,G). Pier G is the Domestic terminal. We landed here from Bodrum. There is a dedicated passport control and security area in Pier G Domestic for international transit passengers. There are 25 immigration desks and 9 security points. This meant it took us less than 5 minutes to pass through. No more queueing up with all the other passengers just arriving at the airport so connection times are greatly reduced. From Pier G we headed to Pier B for our onward flight. This took less than 10 minutes using the travelators through the main concourse (moving walkways). Each of the flight information boards showed you how long it would take from that point to your gate. As we had a couple of hours to spare we had a good look around the main concourse. Lots of shops and duty free, sports bar and coffee shops. There are public toilets literally every 50meters!As of 1st May there were still of lot of empty units but as the airport has only been open a month then it will take time to fill all the units. Turkish Airlines Lounge said it was only for business class passengers and elite card holders (see more info further in my review). The IGA lounge was also only for free for business class passengers of various airlines that had opted into their scheme. Access for euro59 was also possible. The guy at reception said the Turkish Banks (such as HSBC and Garanti bank who had lounges in the old airport) had not yet joined IGA, nor had the likes of Priority Pass. (come on Priority Pass - what do I pay my subscription for?!). Also in the International departures concourse is Yotel. Ultra modern 12m2 en-suite bedrooms. Minimum usage was 4 hours for euro80 plus euro10 for each additional hour. Advise to pre-book as it was fully booked when we checked. You can book via yotel.com. Overall the experience was very positive - soooo much better than the old Ataturk airport. There is room for improvements: 1) comfy seating areas required (we found a couple but they were next to the departure gates so you only found them at the last minute. 2) there is a distinct lack of vending machines. We only found one in the whole airport. I'd rather get a bottle of water out the vending machine for TL2 rather than buy one from a cafe at TL8. 3) at the security points, the carousel where you put your belongings into the tray ready to pass through the x-ray machine are too short. Only enough room for 3 people. If they extend these to accommodate 10+ people then it would avoid congestion at peak times. 4) Starbucks - searched everywhere but couldn't find one. It was only as we went to board did we spot one hidden inside the entrance to Pier B. On the way back from our holiday we transited from International arrivals at Pier B to Domestic departures at Pier G. It was a long 15-20 minute walk with no moving walkways to speak of (max 30m in total). Clearing passport control and security was very easy as each of the 5 Piers has their own dedicated area. There was also an office where you could obtain your visa (even for UK nationals). Inside Pier G we found it to be rather baron. Not many units taken as yet. There was a very small Starbucks and one other little cafe. A distinct lack of comfy seating but loads of wide open spaces lying empty! We had a 6 hour connection and would have appreciated some sofas etc. After about an hour we decided to venture down to the Departure Gates area even though our gate had not yet been assigned. Hurray - loads of seating ! Come on Istanbul - either make it clear to passengers that there is seating down there or add some in the concourse area - or both ! No IGA lounge or Yotel here so passengers departing on a domestic flight are not catered for at all. We decided to ask again at Turkish Airlines CIP lounge (domestic Pier G). Initially was told it was only for Business Class. But after 4 times of asking we were informed we could gain access for a fee of TL90 (£12). We still had 5 hours to kill so it was a bargain. Comfy seating, good coffee, soft drinks, snack and soups. At 4am they provided a Turkish breakfast and filled bagels. One major benefit of the CIP lounge is that you don't leave the lounge when it's time to board your plane. They have a dedicated flight information board which indicates when your plane is ready for boarding. You then depart through a door directly from the CIP lounge onto a bus which takes to directly to your plane. Well worth the TL90 fee if you don't have free access.

Adnan Ahmed
1 month ago
★★★★★

Beautiful Airport. It's Huge and artistically build. Nice duty free shopping .Although 50 minutes away from Downtown Istanbul. Many restaurants and cafes available for transit passengers.

Ksadd
1 month ago
★★★☆☆

The airport looks great the security is very very fast.
But it all starts to fall down after that. Lack of seating anywhere, what there is is taken up by sleeping people.
The Turkish airline lounges business or star alliance gold only.
IGA lounge is a staggering 69 Euro. And no priority pass access. I didn’t find lack of English speakers a problem and everyone was keen to help. It’s early days for the airport.
It just needs to cater a bit more with people with long transfer times.
More seating and lounges you can afford to Pay to get in.
I will give it another few flights and see how it goes.

Zack
2 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

Simply big. Not smart. Walking too long. Not fast tracks for international transfer. Double security. Untrained staff. No one speak English. I am going to avoid fly with TK from now on.

Jasmin Lenhart
2 months ago
★★★☆☆

On my first landing at Yeni Istanbul I was not pleased because the way from the gate to passport control and then on to baggage claim was a seemingly never-ending walk. I could not really make out the so-called typically Turkish architectural features of the building. Somehow it reminded me of the great hall at Ben Gurion in Tel Aviv. Perhaps that is the effect of international airport architecture? The situation at the exit was chaotic with all the people working for transfer organizations hanging around. To get down to the busses I had to walk a lot again. It was very draughty. The atmosphere was not so welcoming as at familiar Atatürk Airport. When I was finally heading for downtown Istanbul by car I saw the scars of building the airport and highways in the landscape. It looked a bit like volcanic wasteland in the Canary Islands. I am afraid that a lot of nature has been destroyed for good. The effects on nearby Black Sea will show, too, sooner or later. Traffic jams and long delays are unavoidable already now. Next time if ever I will set off from my city hotel three hours before boarding instead of two as for Atatürk before. You need a lot of time to get there "punctually". All my Turkish acquaintances advised me to fly to Sabiha Gökcen next time. That would be a real problem for me because I am an absolute fan of Turkish Airlines, which do not fly there from my home country.
Security check and passport control were much faster than at any other airport I know. There are many more shops than at Atatürk Airport before, too many of them selling handbags and similar goods for my taste. The distances from the shopping areas to the gates were extremely long, Announced 18 minutes and more. In between there is stylish Sofa-like furniture for tired voyagers to relax or even sleep. If that is a good option, I do not know. What I thoroughly enjoyed was the cultural offer made between the gates. Orchestras and artists of all sorts were playing there on the 20th of April. Only few meters before my gate I made the acquaintance of ebrucu Dilek Kayır, who showed interested passengers how to make Ebru. I found that fantastic! Show more of Turkish civilization to foreigners!!! Turkey is best where it stays Turkish. Summing up my experience I would like to say that Yeni Istanbul should be given another name, and possibly the old one. The whole Yeni complex needs a lot of development and future improvements. Last but not least it was opened and has been working for several weeks now, and this is a fact that you cannot say about the new airport at Berlin.

Matthew Lumnitzer
2 months ago
★★☆☆☆

Good: The new Istanbul airport is nice and open and has beautiful modern architecture with lots of natural light. Many seats, benches, and sofas to sit down near the International gates.

Bad:
- Lack of planning for transportation inside and outside this massive airport.
- Extremely SLOW WiFi
- No Priority Pass lounges (old airport had 3)
- "Ask Me" guest services are standing everywhere but they barely speak English and do not seem to be well trained. They were unable to answer most of my questions about availability of shops, lounges, directions, etc.
- No Turkish ice cream like the old airport

william john stuart
2 months ago
★★☆☆☆

the good things:
Its bright and airy
the passport control was the fastest ever.

the not so good:
the ground staff employed to help have not been trained and in large part only spoke piegon-english is at all
the trolly system is unusable for those with average intellegence and below. No one is my group could work it and the only helping staff available pointed us to a currency exchange desk
built in 2018 and opened in 2019 the second biggest airport in the world has NO Metro or Rail link. The project managers have has no thought for the traveller. You can take a taxi, fine. You can take a bus with no dedicated bus corridor meaning you are subject to the same grid lock as everyone else in Istanbul during peak times. Sorry Turkey but you have let your self down and given no though to the passenger. Its not a minor point. for the traveller its essential. You cannot predict your journey time like you could at Attaturk with a metro link, joining onto a Tram link
bad,bad planning

Tom Parkin
2 months ago
★★★☆☆

Whatever you do do not lose any personal belongings after you past through the security scanners. Before them you may find your belongings show up at Lost & Found. After them your belongings may go to the 'Customs House'. There is a phone number that you can ring but they know nothing about lost belongings. It appears that you have to go there in person if you want to see if your belongings have been handed in, difficult if you've already had to take your next flight. I realise that the operation is very new and that there are always teething problems but there should at least be somewhere that you can register your lost property with.
Otherwise a very spacious airport with many people sleeping rough

Ian Bollans
2 months ago
★★★★☆

Steve
Look at http://www.hava.ist/en/ This has a list of times and cost of buses to Sultanahmet. Also provides map of drop off points. Sultanahmet is pretty central. Note that you need an Istanbulkart before boarding (remember to top it up first) as they don't accept cash. Cost is 18TL round trip. Maybe see you on the bus!!

Steve
2 months ago
★★★☆☆

I arrive at the new Istanbul airport Sunday 4/21. I would like to take the bus that Tom mentioned on his 4/11 post. I think it is HavaIST bus #20 to Sultanahmet. Does anyone know where it stops in Sultanahment (cross streets or landmark on the map)? I would like to know if it stops near my hotel on Klodfarer Cadessi. As others have mentioned, it is very difficult to find information around transportation and I would have thought it would have been more plentiful. All information tries to route you to a taxi, which is around 60 euros (and bus is only 3 euros). I did send an email to HavaIST to inquire, but no response after several days. So I could really use your help if you know this information (please add another reply to this chain). Thanks!

Jalal . Perpignan (French)
9 days ago
★★★★★

magnifique et énorme aéroport flambant neuf ça brille de partout et bien desservi , les prix du transport sont raisonnable, par contre globalement les prix de la zone détaxée duty free sont vraiment chers .

Naoui (French)
9 days ago
★★★★★

Jörgen Andersson (Swedish)
1 month ago
★★★★★

Till att vara så gigantisk stor,är det ändå mycket lätt att hitta rätt.
Mycket hjälpsam personal,och för en gångs skull lite leenden från säkerhetspersonalen.

Saida (French)
2 months ago
★★★★★

Ahmed Boubenia (French)
2 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

L'aéroport est bon mais le plus important c'est les moyens de transport qui sont pratiquement limité car les bus ou les taxi sont des moyens non sur notamment avec le trafic de la ville d'Istanbul.
Alors vaux mieux d'accélérer à réaliser un chemin de fer pour train ou métro

Add review

Have you visited Istanbul New Airport lately? We would like to hear from you. Share your opinion and help travellers around the world. We greatly appreciate your opinion!



  • Only for verification

Your rating*

AirMundo.com offers free airport information through its own websites and partners. The use of this data is only permitted for non-commercial purposes, provided that the source is mentioned. Use for commercial purposes requires permission from AirMundo.com, see the disclaimer.

Loading