Reviews for Istanbul New Airport

Read reviews or write a review about Istanbul New Airport (IST) in Turkey. Provide other airport travellers with essential airport information and tell us about your airport experience. So far, 83 airport passengers have written an airport review about Istanbul New Airport with an average score of 1 out of 5.

Reviews

Elisa
13 days ago
★★★★☆

Water fountain! I was pleased to have found one. Next to the Ecco store and some elevators. I believe it was not too far from the Airport Hotel.
This was 25th November 2019.

Zafer BOZKUŞ
24 days ago
★★★☆☆

I am puzzled. First, I read the comments above and felt terrible as a Turk about most of the comments written on the new Istanbul Airport. Then I came across this news below. Which one is correct ?

https://www.internationalairportreview.com/article/106597/international-airport-reviews-2019-award-winners-announced/

Readers’ Choice: Airport of the Year
Winner: Istanbul Airport
Award winner: IstanbulFor the first time for IAR, the Readers’ Choice Award was launched. From a list of 10, readers voted for the airport that has provided them with the best experience, considering delays, real-time information, connectivity, available amenities, interaction with staff, cleanliness and overall satisfaction.

Istanbul Airport received an outstanding number of votes, beating a world-class group of airports including Changi Airport, Sydney Airport, Copenhagen Airport, Hong Kong International Airport, London Heathrow Airport, Dubai International Airport, Vancouver International Airport, Charles de Gaulle Airport and Jorge Chavez International Airport.

“Covering an area of 76.5 million square metres, Istanbul Airport serves as a global hub between Asia, Africa and Europe,” said Editor of International Airport Review, Tara Nolan. “I am thrilled our readers have recognised IST as an inspiration to other airports. The airport’s efforts in innovation, creativity, design and passenger experience have won them this award, and in the video below, Istanbul Airport’s CEO details just some of the initiatives that have contributed to this.”

Marko
1 month ago
★☆☆☆☆

Watch out, guy in the exchange office near visa office steal 8 euros frol us. We were stressed because of the visa issue and didnt calculate, and it looks like he was doing this for long time. We need to pay 567 tlr and he exchange us 110 e. We went to the girl in the visa desk and she pointed us back to the exchange office as we didnt have enough lira from 110euros exchange (we should have 588 lira in our hands but the crook from the exchange office gave us 548). As we didnt expect that someone will try to rob us at the airport we didnt double check. I think that this guy is doing this for a long time as he was cold blooded and his coleague laughed.

JACQUE L
1 month ago
★☆☆☆☆

I have been thru the old airport many times and never had any problems. This trip was a nightmare. I was only in transit and had little over 2 hrs to catch my flight. I went to the same transit lane I usually went to at the old airport and after over 20mins in line, I was told by passport control that I needed a visa, after showing my flight info and informing him that I was not staying in Turkey, he still insisted that I needed a visa. So after walking to the visa counter I was informed by the lady there , who was extremely rude, that I did not need a visa. ( which was what I thought to begin with) Again, I got back in line and when finally getting back to the passport control officer, he told me that I cannot come thru without a visa. They then sent me to the information desk and lucky for me, a very nice young man went with me to the visa counter( after walking forever) and she became very rude and belligerent to us both but eventually gave me a visa for 25 euros. I got back in line and the passport officers were extremely rude and unhelpful. I was one of the last to board my flight and I am so grateful to that young man that helped me or I would have never made my flight. I was passed from desk to desk by some of the rudest people I have every dealt with while traveling and I have traveled to airports all over the world. I will avoid this airport in the future and I do suggest that if you do use it, pull up the map and familiarize yourself with the layout because it is not user friendly nor are most of the staff helpful or friendly. Worst airport experience ever. One agent when I tried to get help and showed my passport stated that "I am Turkish, you are American, I do not have to talk with you". I was stunned, he worked there and was paid to deal with people from all nationalities. If he could not do his job and keep his personnel beliefs from interfering, then he did not need to be doing that job. However, it appears that the majority of the employees I meet had no desire to help the travelers. Thank God for that young man who helped me!!

NS
1 month ago
★★★☆☆

I think the airport officers over here are the best candidates for "Not-My-Job" awards. You can only ask exclusively to the ask me guys. When in fact the ask me guys are not deployed evenly in the entire airport area. I was asking the security guy for particular place, he was telling me to find an ask me guy. When in fact the place I was asking for was only one block away from him. If you happen to visit this airport, please be ready to get lost. Because not all people are willing to give you direction 😒

aadel
1 month ago
★☆☆☆☆

When I and my wife and my girl's family with a small child at 7 months should travel to Istanbul, we landed in the new istanbul airport at 1:35 am on Saturday .
We were surprised by the bad and humiliating behaviour from the pass control the police . everyone had to get stamped check into their pass except my girl.
WHAT is the reason they would not tell us and there was not one of them could speak English .
they sent us to some other cops who say that we should wait a while and the strap, we sat and waited for an explanation about WHY she had not come in ? in 4 hours and the time here was around about 5 am .
the baby was tired at the end and had no food with us to give him and the cops would not help us to recover him in one way or another while we waited on an explanation.
so they came and told us that they can't take decision about my girl not until Monday, where their responsible meetings up . at this time it was the baby finished and we decided that I and my wife and the baby takes to the hotel, which is located 50 min away from airporten.
we arrived approximately at 6:30 pm to the hotel and hoped that my girl and her husband would be allowed to enter Monday. so we have heard the day after of my girl that they would send her back to Denmark without her baby !!!!
WHAT is it for some people who work in this airport when it no conscience have .The girl was sent back alone without her baby and the man had to come to the hotel and retrieved the baby and buy new tickets and travel back to Denmark after his wife. I am a man 57 years old , who traveled much around the world . I have never seen be than the airport staff in istanbul airport .when you ask for just a little info will be sent from one office to another , the staff is not helpful and bother just help . and when you find the airport wifi on your mobile so you can not log you in before you have a Turkish cell number . and it is good enough strange because not all flying or land on this airport are turks, I would never travel to this country even though there is wonderful nature and culture and population .

Jane Hepburn
1 month ago
★☆☆☆☆

My husband and I arrived in your beautiful country this evening (3/10/2029) for a two week holiday to celebrate 26 years of married life only to be met with rudeness, a couldn’t care less attitude from your border staff and an inexplicable fine of 567 Turkish lira!
We had a valid Turkish visa which was issued in May 2019 and valid for 180 days. We had a holiday in Istanbul in May/June this year and loved the city so much we thought we would go again for our celebrations before our visa finished. We still had more than one more month left on the visa. When we ordered the visa, at no time did your staff inform us there would be a problem.
It seems that because my husband’s passport expires in four and a half months there was a big problem.
WHY?
The visa was still valid.
His passport was still valid.
We only wanted to stay for two weeks.
We could not believe our eyes when we were told we had to pay 567 Turkish lira!!
FOR WHAT?
My husband’s visa was still valid and so was his passport!
But this amount is outrageous!
Why?
And the worst thing was that no one in your visa office told us there could be a problem, even though we had entered my husband’s passport details when getting the original visa back in May.
After paying this absolutely extortionate amount of money this evening... the border guard CANCELLED the visa my husband already had and just gave him 15 days!!
He didn’t even ask what date my husband had booked a flight back to the UK.
Turkey has been one of our most favourite destinations... we love the friendly people, your amazing culture and delicious food.
It has always been so easy to get a visa, jump on a plane and enjoy a holiday here.
NO MORE!
We had such a terrible experience today being treated like criminals and having to pay an unbelievable amount of money...it was 11 pm at night and we were exhausted. My husband is 75 years old.
We are very very disappointed and start our anniversary holiday in an extremely angry and sad mood.
We will think twice about coming to Turkey again and tell everyone about this outrageous treatment.
We are both old age pensioners and having to pay out more than £70 for ABSOLUTELY NOTHING has been a shock, right at the beginning of our lovely celebrations.
We will pass on news about this terrible treatment to all our friends and describe what happened today on Trip Advisor.

Ioana
2 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

I have had the worst experience and I wouldn’t wish this to my worst enemy. I flew from London and supposed to meet my mum who was coming from Bucharest early morning. Her plane landed and she didn’t show up although I spoke with her minutes before her plane took off. I have spent 8 h on that bloody airport trying to find my mom. Two lovely Turks tried to help me and that’s it. No one speaks proper English, you are not allowed to make announcements. Worst 8 h of my life. They literally do not care, they send you from desk to desk and that’s it. The signage is awful and my poor mum didn’t even get to passport control and she got lost on the other side of the airport. No one helped her. What I experienced in those 8 hours, thinking that something happend to her. In the end I took a cab and went to the police and after 2 hours of watching CCTV’s and a nice Russian woman that showed my mum the right way i managed to find her. Never again will I fly to this airport. I am scared for life.

Alice
2 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

Extremely rude personnel !!! Worst experience ever!!!

Rachid Benkhoukha
2 months ago
★★★★☆

I have read a lot bad comments about the airport and services which its not true , i leave in england and have been in istanbul 3 times and i can say there is huge difference between the old airport and the new one, all signes are clear to read, with excellent services , BUT not enough seats inside the airport untill you get to the boarding area , may be for security reasons !!? thats the only downside i noticed.

Mustafa
2 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

Looks impressive.No free wifi to connect to relatives and look for accommodation and taxis going to Istanbul.English signage missing.Cant find any information booth.THKme TRAVEL
0850 302 52 34.booked hotel in a remote small town on Black Sea.Charged 1500 TL.No activity away from Istanbul city.When I complained I was charged another US $ 70.00.Transferred to Hotel near Sultanahmet Square.In total I paid $ 320.00.If I book through internet my total cost $90.00 for three nights and $60.00 for taxi.Charged me more than double and not the same hotel.Never go to Airport Agents they are thieves and cheaters.

Aleem Niazi
2 months ago
★★★★☆

Its so strange people have negative impression about new Istanbul airport. I have been here twice since July 2019. Facilities are marvelous. Immigration and security process is very smooth and takes far less time than any other international airport. The seating typicality at every gate is excellent. If you have long stay overs at airport, you can take rest on long easy chairs. Only improvement areas are; WiFi facility and English speaking staff.

Maria
2 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

Poorly organized airport.
Huge, with poor uncomfortable logistics.
Poorly organized information. Few information banners. Advertising banners are more than in quantity and size than information displays. Due to the fault of the airport, they were late for a connecting flight, as the information on replacing the terminal was changed, about which there were no information voice messages. The distance from one terminal to another was 20 minutes,

ashish sanghavi
2 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

bought 2 bottles of liqueur for first time from an dutyfree on 25 th sept at istanbul duty free which they didnt seal nor the person on counter informed that the same needs to sealed in case you travelling via liquor prohibited country even though they are aware of the laws and the same was confiscated at kuwait intransit becase the bottles were not sealed and the reply i get from there customer care on writing the mail is that you should have read the FAQs on there website before purchasing the alcohol , would never recommend this duty free anyone god knows where you might get stuck

Linta
2 months ago
★★★★★

I had read negative reviews so I was apprehensive about my first visit to the new airport. I was pleasantly surprised. It is very nice, signs are clear and useful staff are polite, friendly and helpful. Loads of shops and eating places. Altogether a great airport.

eidollah abdoli
2 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

This airport has most worst service to passengers. You get stress for missing your flight, even though, regestered for wheelchair assist they don't care about it and very rude. Nobady is responsible

Natasha aksenova
2 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

Staff intentionally provide misleading directions that exhaust customers. They are rude and trying to keep you there. I spent 1..5 hours out of 6.5 looking for the right counter. As a result I could not visit the city. One of the information clerks said that if I leave airport I will mostly likely miss my flight. The other one said I was not allowed to go outside. Airport has no comfortable chairs or sofas. Never again.

Suman
3 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

Bad bad bad...Signage is too confusing. The staff are rude. I bought a few things from the grand bazaar and asked the staff there for "billing counter". She could not understand, and that's fine, but still pointed me to the correct place. Just as I was leaving she was mocking my tone. I felt like just throwing the stuff back. The other big thing is that there are no water fountains anywhere. If you need drinking water you need to buy it. Probably my last time transiting this airport.

Nikki
3 months ago
★★☆☆☆

Althought the airport looks nice, it takes too long to get to your gate, the signage is unhelpful, and the staff have poor English and are rude. When you get to the dutyfree section, beware! I got an icetea from Simit Sarayi and the lady who served me intentionally lied. She said it was 3 euros, which was already a lot, but on the screen and on the receipt the price was 2.56. I told her it said differently in the screen, but she repeated it was 3 euros, like she couldn't understant my compliant. I bought the icetea anyway because I was so thirsty after a 6 hour flight in the evening and I had to rush to get my connecting flight, but I regretted doing so as soon as I payed for it. I should have just got my money back! If it happens to you, either complaint until they cave or don't buy anything from there. They'll start to change once they loose money.

Yajati Kumar Ghosh
3 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

Worst airport ever. Staff are rude, unhelpful and racially biased. Will avoid at all cost because planning is so poor that you will definitely miss your flight if there isn't a long connection.

Batakli (French)
Less than a minute ago
★★★★★

J'y suis allé fin octobre 2019 et, sincèrement, il est magnifique. Je me suis connecté sur le wifi gratuit de l'aéroport. Les toilettes étaient très propres. Pour les correspondances, attention à ne pas calculer trop court. Je pense qu'il faut au moins 1h30 de délai entre les deux vols.

Göran Bischoff Hansen (Swedish)
8 days ago
★★★★★

Fantastisk Flygplats, lätt att hitta och hjälpsam personal. Även Turkish Airline ska ha ett stort plus.

Freddie Wendin (Swedish)
11 days ago
★★★★★

Fantastisk byggnad, Var där första gången och hittade hur lätt som helst tack vare hjälpsam personal

Ghoul (French)
2 months ago
★★★★★

Bonjour très belle Aeroport la Turquie voit grand certes tout n est pas encore parfait mais vu l organisation àutour des lieux de visites on s inquiéte pas
Très belle ville à voir
Mais c est. Vrai 15 min entre l atterrissage et le temps d arriver au-débarquement c est très long

Björn Bergqvist (Swedish)
2 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

Hej
Arrogant och ohjälpsam personal på alla ställen där jag tilltalade en Turk, Turkar måste var det otrevligaste folkslaget i världen. Försökte ta reda på vart Mastercards Key Lounge låg, det tog mej 1,5h tills någon sa att det finns inte, kan jag ens lita på det? orkade inte leta vidare så jag bara slappade tills mitt flyg avgick.
Dåligt skyltat och dyrt är det oxå.
I fortsättningen skall jag göra allt för att slippa mellanlandning här.
Björn B

Rousset (French)
3 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

Aéroport magnifique, mais il y a énormément à faire pour qu'il soit au niveau des petits aéroport européen, il valait mieux faire plus petit mais avec un meilleur service aux passagers :
- Toilettes très sales dans tous les coins
- prix exorbitant pour les restaurants
- même les produits locaux sont trop chères, c'est dommage, ça devrait être une vitrine pour attirer les touristes et les encourager à aller visiter la ville d’Istanbul
- impossible de se connecter au WIFI (même pas pour quelques minutes), les restaurants en ont fait un commerce très juteux, il faut acheter pour 20 euros pour avoir quelques minutes de WIFI.
- attention quand vous payez en Euros, on vous rend des livres (en vous faisant croire que ces sont des euros), en plus que c'est très chère, vous perdez encore 6 fois sur la monnaie rendue.

Jim (French)
4 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

Il n'y a aucun moyen de faire chauffer un repas pour bébé. Rien n'est prévu par l'aéroport (en dehors des restaurants qui refusent tous de chauffer le repas des enfants avec une mention spéciale pour Starbuck qui n'a vraiment pas été aimable...).
Les toilettes pour enfant sont sales. Nous avons vu une femme de ménage passer dans les toilettes avant d'y aller. Elle n'a rien nettoyé du tout. Pourtant, ça se voyait que la cuvette était très sale.
Sinon, comptez au moins 25mn entre atterrissage et l'arrivée au point de stationnement. Ajoutez le temps de débarquement et le temps pour vous rendre à votre correspondance. Bref, si vous avez moins d'1h30 pour votre correspondance, c'est très mal parti pour l'avoir.
Bref, ce nouvel aéroport n'est vraiment pas top.

Levreau (French)
4 months ago
★★★☆☆

Pouvez vous ce que les ultrasons que nous entendons en permanance dans l'aéroport. Après y avoir passé 24 heures je peux vous dire que c'est strident.

Jalal . Perpignan (French)
6 months ago
★★★★★

magnifique et énorme aéroport flambant neuf ça brille de partout et bien desservi , les prix du transport sont raisonnable, par contre globalement les prix de la zone détaxée duty free sont vraiment chers .

Naoui (French)
6 months ago
★★★★★

Jörgen Andersson (Swedish)
7 months ago
★★★★★

Till att vara så gigantisk stor,är det ändå mycket lätt att hitta rätt.
Mycket hjälpsam personal,och för en gångs skull lite leenden från säkerhetspersonalen.

Saida (French)
8 months ago
★★★★★

Ahmed Boubenia (French)
8 months ago
★☆☆☆☆

L'aéroport est bon mais le plus important c'est les moyens de transport qui sont pratiquement limité car les bus ou les taxi sont des moyens non sur notamment avec le trafic de la ville d'Istanbul.
Alors vaux mieux d'accélérer à réaliser un chemin de fer pour train ou métro

Add review

Have you visited Istanbul New Airport lately? We would like to hear from you. Share your opinion and help travellers around the world. We greatly appreciate your opinion!



  • Only for verification

Your rating*

AirMundo.com offers free airport information through its own websites and partners. The use of this data is only permitted for non-commercial purposes, provided that the source is mentioned. Use for commercial purposes requires permission from AirMundo.com, see the disclaimer.

Loading