Reviews for Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Here you can write a review about Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport (JNB) in South Africa. Provide other airport travellers with essential airport information and be the first to tell us about your airport experience.

Reviews

No reviews found in your language. Be the first to write a review.
Ariel Cessario
4 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

Worst airport ever. They have build it this big just for trying to put more stores in it, but the attention in general is awful, the transportation impossible to use, the prices extremely high, the personnel is completely unhelpful. I'd like specially mention the personnel of Turkish Airlines, avoid this company at all cost, it will only be a problem for you. In my case, every one in here tried to scam me, not even one person showed a drop of empathy or tried to help in any way. The manager in the Hotel Desk (I think she was called Arzu Ayzin, was such a mean person, and I'm using her name just because she really was mean, a person you should avoid no matter what, she would only rejoice in your sorrow). If you are out of battery and you can't embarc yet, well... there is only one socket in the whole airport, the second biggest one in the world, and only one plug. Internet connection, only for 15 minutes, download the app in that time or your are screwed. So, in conclusion, avoid this place, you wont have a great memory from Turkey because of this, and it's wrong, this place shouldn't be the first impression of any country.

John
5 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

Airport looks good. But its system and service are so bad. They never care passengers convenience. They don"t even have power outlet as if this is new airport. Never recommend this urgly airport for transit.

adam conrad
6 days ago
★★★★★

Awesome airport. They just need to complete the railway and finish the other runways. Loved it.

Jay Daniels
10 days ago
★★★★★

A huge change from the old airport which did have a lot in a small area including a Hotel inside the airport, but it was time for a change. On arrival found the staff at the New airport and those at the Bus terminal to be so very helpful and friendly. On departing a week later, was very impressed by the size and available facilities, so much to explore, I enjoy walking and getting the circulation going before a flight (To help avoid DVT!). I find a lot of new and old airports around the world are in fact quite small and with a few hours inside, you end up walking to the same places in a constant loop like a mad Bear in a Zoo, but not the new Istanbul airport. The shops and lounges were impressive, some souvenir items were selling for less than what we paid in the City : ( , but most were more, and were of good quality. There's a lot of "new" but tired airports in the World, it was refreshing to be at the new Istanbul airport as it had a fresh feel about it, we wouldn't have minded a longer stay at the airport to explore more. As time passes I'm sure they will iron out the issues that other travellers have mentioned. If travelling through Istanbul, allow yourself time between flights to look around, shop eat and drink.

Bruno (French)
10 days ago
★★★★☆

Flight SN Airlines BRU (Brussels) - KBP (Kiev (Kyiv))
After landing, you arrive in a big hall where you will fill a paper on the table before passing the border (think to have a pen). Depending on the number of passengers, less or more border office are opened. Don't take too much care about the inscription "All Passport" written above the desk.
To pass the border, you need the paper filled and your passport. Once you have pass the border, you may pick up your checked baggage and follow the road "declare items" or "not to declare items" to get out . In this new hall, friends, family and taxi drivers are waiting for you. In the left-hand side you find an information desk (ask for a free map of Kyiv) and officials vendors of SIM phone card. Be careful about the price (have a check before on the company site before, to know which card you need!). On the right-hand side, after the main door, you will find the bus. This bus goes to the metro (60 rph/person) station Kharkivska (M3 - 324) and continues the route to the main railroad station (100 rph/person). If you go to the metro station, put your luggage inside the bus. If you go to the railroad, give your luggage at the driver. Take a seat, the driver before start will ask you to pay and will give you a receipt. The driver doesn't speak English! The bus ride directly to the metro station (first stop). Entry of the metro is near the bus stop. It is not very visible because of the market. Take the same stairs as those to cross the street and pass the subway doors. After those, you may buy a "jeton" for the usage of the metro (8 rph/person) at the desk (special window) open all the time. Insert the jeton in the machine and use the escalators to go down to the subway platform. On the wall of it, the name of the station and the name of the next stations are indicated to show you the direction of the line. Have a nice moment. (July 2019)

Brian
11 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

The design of the airport is highly prioritizing commercial spaces rather than the comfort of the passengers. It looks like a luxury shopping center more than a functional airport. Taxi times are quite long and making passengers quite impatient. I think operational quality of the airport is worse to mediocre considering the taxiing durations, logistic structure of terminals, and the amount passerngers spent to reach the aircrafts. Just be prepared to miss your flight.

Wilhelm
11 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

The Airport is not clean. Air conditioning is not functioning. Prices are high and services are bad. Toilet is awful. Security check is very slow. I don’t have good words for this Airport.

marilena
13 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

Useless mania of grandeur and total lack of practicality and comfort.
Once the plane has landed it loses a lot of time on the runway before arriving at its gate, where passengers can finally get off, but even once there, you have to walk a lot before reaching a huge hall, full of shops, all foreigners and signed. No more typical Turkish shops, as there were in Ataturk airport, with Turkish objects and souvenirs.
in this they only have a small "Turkish" shop that practically only sells turkish delights. in this salon there is nothing to sit on except at the various bars, where you have to order something. Then you walk again, in total for at least an hour at a brisk pace, just to get to your gate, if you are in simple transfer, that is, without doing any practice. Only there can one sit on various benches. The airport was poorly designed as a convenience, and all this architectural style doesn't give a damn about the passengers who would need the practicality instead. Furthermore, when you landed at Ataturk airport you could admire a splendid view of the Bosphorus, which is nowhere to be seen at all. Great was the real Ataturk father of the homeland as beautiful was the airport that bore his name.

Amani Nayal
15 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

It’s just a disaster to start a huge airport when no service is available, and what kind of service exists now? It’s just a perfect maze to loose your next flight looking for your luggage, to loose your money and to loose your spirit in your short vacation.

Gary
15 days ago
★★☆☆☆

Istanbul new airport... IST.... in a nutshell is a failure. Not only is the airport too big, it doubles the travel time to Sultanahmet. Soon landing it took 20 minutes walking to get to passport control which was easy then to walk 10 minutes again to get to the bag carousel. On leaving Istanbul the security was over the top and never seen such nonsense before,
Much worse than travelling through the old Ataturk airport. Although ataturk was overcrowded many times, it simply was a much easier airport to navigate. Sadly they got this one all wrong.... including a very strong sunset glare when walking towards the gates in the A+ area. And the intense glare on internal reflection on the way back. Istanbul... take note of Asia and see where you went wrong!

David
16 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

Beware of thieves in Strasbourg airport. While offloading luggage from an airplane, handlers stole things from my luggage including a map, cutting board and some items of clothing. Lock your bags if you have to go to Strasbourg airport. Beware of thieves.

Saul
18 days ago
★★★★☆

Very nice airport located in nowhere’s land.
Taxi time since landing untill terminal building is around 20-25 min. I don’t know why but I hope this will improve in the future.....
Very very long distances to walk inside terminal building. Although old Ist airport was over crowded, it was easy to handle specially if you travel with children and or elders.
For sure they have to improve aircraft taxi time. I wrote this in a taxi time, it’s 10 minutes now and still aproaching terminal building...

Rubik
20 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

Exchange rate for buying is not actual & for example rate of $ for selling in airport was 4.8 Lira but out side of airport is 5.6 but when you want buy $ rate was close to 6 Lira.
And water 4 time more expensive in the airport.

Antonia
21 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

Avoid this Airport if you have connection or transfer here!

Tonight we lost our connection (along with other travelers) because our flight didn’t show up on the Main Board with the gate and all the details. We asked at InfoPoint but they redirected us to the Main Board and another flight with a different Airline Company.

It was a mess, including trying to get new tickets for the next flight. One of the ladies at the Turkish Info said that she doesn’t want to help us anymore.

I highly advise you to try and fin a route that bypasses Istanbul. This ruined the end of our vacation and it cost us an extra 500$.

Edoardo
21 days ago
★★★★★

Lorna
22 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

Rude staff who are aggressive and did not deal with my situation appropriately. I entered the car park (barrier was up) no ticket from machine. I parked and asked at the cash desk lovely man said just push button on way out. Did that got an aggressive and extremely rude other man who just shouted ticket ticket at me and did not assist me to leave car park after 10 minutes of waiting for help i had to reverse back into car park and go to cash desk for second time. Juan Antonio was was just horrible and would not help me.

Kaj
22 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

Avoid this new airport. Taxi time almost 30 mins. Regular delays and far too long distances inside the airport.
Surprisingly it also looks dirty and worn on floors and walls despite being new. Avoud...

Sophie D.S.
23 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

The only restaurant abuses it’s monopoly postions. Tables and floor were disgusting and never cleaned!

Caroline G.
23 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

Quick and friendly service at the check-in and control, but horrible Lounge bar (Listino Prezzi). Dirty glasses for the wine, all the cutlery and the cups were from plastic. Very unfriendly service!!

julia fuller
25 days ago
★☆☆☆☆

Beware if leaving from Pula airport. We were told that 1 hour was sufficient time by our taxi driver. However it took almost 1 1/2 hours to get through security checks and passport control on leaving. It was chaos with no-one controlling people pushing in. As a consequence we almost missed our flight.

Add review

Have you visited Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport lately? We would like to hear from you. Share your opinion and help travellers around the world. We greatly appreciate your opinion!



  • Only for verification

Your rating*

AirMundo.com offers free airport information through its own websites and partners. The use of this data is only permitted for non-commercial purposes, provided that the source is mentioned. Use for commercial purposes requires permission from AirMundo.com, see the disclaimer.

Loading