Get to know the flag carriers of the European countries

How many countries are there in Europe?

There are 51 countries in Europe. Nevertheless, it remains difficult to give an exact number, because there are many criteria which can be used for selection. Kosovo is included in these 51 countries, although many countries do not officially recognize Kosovo. The Danish Realm consists of Denmark, Greenland and the Faroe Islands and the United Kingdom consists of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. The United Kingdom is not the same as Great Britain, the United Kingdom is a combination of Great Britain (England, Scotland, Wales) and Northern Ireland.

What are the names of the European capitals?

Istanbul is not the capital of Turkey and Zurich is not the capital of Switzerland. The capitals of Turkey, Switzerland and other European countries are listed below.

What are the flag carriers of the European countries?

Most of the European countries have a flag carrier or national airline, some of the most known are British Airways (United Kingdom), Air France (France) and Lufthansa (Germany). Famous names were also Malev from Hungary and Armavia from Armenia, these airlines however went bankrupt in respectively 2012 and 2013. Denmark, Norway and Sweden share one (inter)national airline called Scandinavian Airlines.

How many countries are part of the European Union?

28 countries are part of the European Union. In 1957, the ‘Treaty of Rome’ was signed by Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and West Germany, this was the foundation of the ECC (European Economic Community). Meanwhile the number of countries increased to 28 members, newest members are Bulgaria and Romania which joined the European Union in 2007 and Croatia who became a member of the EU on the 1th of July 2013.

How many countries have the euro as their national currency?

There are 19 countries of the European Union that use the euro as their national currency. There are four more countries (Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and Vatican City) that use the euro as currency, but they are not a part of the European Union. In Kosovo and Montenegro is the euro also used as legal tender, but these countries have no formal agreement with the EU.

Country Capital Airline EU (28) euro (19 or 23)
1 Albania Tirana Belle Air (bankrupt) candidate Albanian lek
2 Andorra Andorra la Vella / X, not EU
3 Armenia Yerevan Armavia (bankrupt) Armenian dram
4 Austria Vienna Austrian Airlines X X
5 Azerbaijan Baku Azerbaijan Airlines Azerbaijani manat
6 Belarus Minsk Belavia Belarusian ruble
7 Belgium Brussels Brussels Airlines X X
8 Bosnia and Herzegovina Sarajevo B&H Airlines (bankrupt) B. and H. convertible mark
9 Bulgaria Sofia Bulgaria Air X Bulgarian lev
10 Croatia Zagreb Croatia Airlines X Croatian kuna
11 Cyprus Nicosia Cyprus Airways (bankrupt) X X
12 Czech Republic Prague Czech Airlines X Czech koruna
13 Denmark Copenhagen Scandinavian Airlines X Danish krone
14 Estonia Tallinn Nordica X X
15 Finland Helsinki Finnair X X
16 France Paris Air France X X
17 Georgia Tbilisi Georgian Airways Georgian lari
18 Germany Berlin Lufthansa X X
19 Greece Athens Aegean Airlines X X
20 Hungary Budapest Malev (bankrupt) X Hungarian forint
21 Ireland Dublin Aer Lingus X X
22 Iceland Reykjavik Icelandair candidate Icelandic króna
23 Italy Rome Alitalia X X
24 Kazakhstan Astana Air Astana Kazakhstani tenge
25 Kosovo Pristina / X, unofficial
26 Latvia Riga Air Baltic X X
27 Liechtenstein Vaduz / Swiss franc
28 Lithuania Vilnius flyLAL (bankrupt) X X
29 Luxembourg Luxembourg City Luxair X X
30 Macedonia Skopje MAT Macedonian Airlines (bankrupt) candidate Macedonian denar
31 Malta Valletta Air Malta X X
32 Moldova Chisinau Air Moldova Moldovan leu
33 Monaco Monaco / X, not EU
34 Montenegro Podgorica Montenegro Airlines candidate X, unofficial
35 Netherlands Amsterdam KLM X X
36 Norway Oslo Scandinavian Airlines Norwegian krone
37 Poland Warsaw LOT X Polish zloty
38 Portugal Lisbon TAP Air Portugal X X
39 Romania Bucharest Tarom X Romanian leu
40 Russia Moscow Aeroflot Russian ruble
41 San Marino San Marino / X, not EU
42 Serbia Belgrade Air Serbia candidate Serbian dinar
43 Slovakia Bratislava Slovak Airlines (bankrupt) X X
44 Slovenia Ljubljana Adria Airways X X
45 Spain Madrid Iberia X X
46 Sweden Stockholm Scandinavian Airlines X Swedish krona
47 Switzerland Bern Swiss Swiss franc
48 Turkey Ankara Turkish Airlines candidate Turkish lira
49 Ukraine Kiev Ukraine International Airlines Ukrainian hryvnia
50 United Kingdom London British Airways X Pound sterling
51 Vatican City Vatican City / X, not EU

Other known European airlines are:

  • HOP! (France)
  • Condor, Eurowings, Germania (Germany)
  • Olympic Air (Greece)
  • Wizz Air (Hungary)
  • Ryanair (Ireland)
  • Meridiana (Italy)
  • Transavia (Netherlands)
  • Norwegian (Norway)
  • Blue Air (Romania)
  • Rossiya Airlines, Pobeda, S7 Airlines, Utair, Ural Airlines (Russia)
  • Air Europa, Vueling (Spain)
  • Pegasus Airlines, SunExpress (Turkey)
  • easyJet, Flybe, Jet2, Virgin Atlantic (United Kingdom) offers free airport information through its own websites and partners. The use of this data is only permitted for non-commercial purposes, provided that the source is mentioned. Use for commercial purposes requires permission from, see the disclaimer.