The Republic of the Congo, not to be confused with the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), is a country in West Africa. It is also called Congo-Brazzaville to avoid confusion with the neighbouring country known as Congo-Kinshasa (DRC). Congo-Brazzaville is a former French colony, which was at that time called French Congo and later Middle Congo. In 1958 Central Congo became an autonomous republic within France and in 1960 the country gained full independence. The capital and largest city in the country is, as the name suggests, Brazzaville. The second largest city in the country is the port city of Pointe-Noire. The busiest airport in the country is the modern Brazzaville Maya-Maya Airport.

Remarkably, the two capitals Brazzaville and Kinshasa are only a few kilometres away from each other, the Congo River is the natural border between the two metropolitan cities and also the countries. About 2 million people live in Brazzaville, Kinshasa has six times as many inhabitants!

Practical information about Congo-Brazzaville:

Time zone: West Africa Time +1
Currency: Central African CFA franc
National Day: 15 August
Airport: aéroport

What are the busiest airports in Congo-Brazzaville?

Airport IATA Passengers
Brazzaville Maya-Maya Airport BZV 627,753 offers free airport information through its own websites and partners. The use of this data is only permitted for non-commercial purposes, provided that the source is mentioned. Use for commercial purposes requires permission from, see the disclaimer.