Netherlands Antilles

All islands in the Caribbean Sea that belong to the Kingdom of the Netherlands are also called the Netherlands Antilles. The Caribbean part of the Kingdom comprises six islands and two island groups, namely Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao (ABC / Leeward Islands), Saba, Sint Eustatius and Sint Maarten (SSS / Windward Islands). The Kingdom of the Netherlands consists of the Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten. Bonaire, Saba and Sint Eustatius have a separate status within the Netherlands as special municipalities. The capital of Aruba and Sint Eustatius have the same name: Oranjestad. The northern part of Sint Maarten belongs to France, the southern part to the Netherlands. The busiest airport in the Netherlands Antilles is Aruba Queen Beatrix Airport, this airport is mainly used by Americans.

The Netherlands Antilles have different currencies, that to say the Aruban florin (Aruba), the Antillean guilder (Curaçao, Sint Maarten) and the US dollar (Bonaire, Saba, Sint Eustatius). The euro is not a legal tender, but can be exchanged anywhere.

Practical information about the Netherlands Antilles:

Time zone: UTC-4
Currency: Aruban florin, Antillean guilder and US dollar
National Day: 27 April
Airport: vliegveld / luchthaven

Check out recommended hotels and apartments in the Netherlands Antilles

What are the busiest airports in Netherlands Antilles?

Airport IATA Passengers
Aruba Queen Beatrix Airport AUA 2,530,000
Sint Maarten Princess Juliana Airport SXM 1,829,543
Curaçao Hato Airport CUR 1,369,579
Bonaire Flamingo Airport BON 384,450 offers free airport information through its own websites and partners. The use of this data is only permitted for non-commercial purposes, provided that the source is mentioned. Use for commercial purposes requires permission from, see the disclaimer.