South Africa

South Africa is the southernmost country in Africa and the continent’s fifth largest country in terms of population. South Africa has no official capital, but three cities in the country have a government function, namely Pretoria (executive), Cape Town (legislative) and Bloemfontein (judicial). None of these three cities is the largest in the country, Johannesburg has the most inhabitants. South Africa is one of the most popular countries in the world for nature lovers. There are many beautiful national parks in the country, including the famous Kruger National Park. Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport and Cape Town Airport are among the five busiest airports in Africa. South Africa has a large number of airlines, including South African Airways, South African Express, Mango, Airlink, kulula and FlySafair.

Practical information about South Africa:

Time zone: South African Standard Time +2
Currency: ZAR
National Day: 27 April
Airport: airport (English) / lughawe (African)

What are the busiest airports in South Africa?

Airport IATA Passengers
Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport JNB 20,903,566
Cape Town Airport CPT 10,688,798
Durban King Shaka Airport DUR 6,099,628
Port Elizabeth Airport PLZ 1,689,914 offers free airport information through its own websites and partners. The use of this data is only permitted for non-commercial purposes, provided that the source is mentioned. Use for commercial purposes requires permission from, see the disclaimer.